RSA made great comeback

South Africa won the series after 2-0 back in first two series by making 3-2 of it.

AB de Villiers: ‘Nice to finish with a win and it was good to lead from the front – as a captain. Pretty happy with the way our side performed, the belief is there in the team (even after being down 2-0). The comeback started at my favourite ground, Super Sport Park. We have showed a lot of character, even those who didn’t play had a role. England are a good opposition, well done for a great series, they fought really hard and the results could have gone either way.’

Hales: ‘Mixed emotions for me, it was a close series, but I thought we fell 30-40 runs short in the last two matches, a couple of dropped chances cost us as well. I needed to apply myself to different situations. After a poor series in the Tests, I wanted to make up for it. We have played some quality oppositions over time and I think my batting is going the right way.’

Alex Hales is the Man of the Series

AB de Villiers is the Man of the Match

Morgan: ‘To be honest, we didn’t do enough. We had our chances to wrap up the series, but we didn’t take it. We put them under pressure once again with the ball, took early wickets but wasn’t just good enough. 260-270 would have been good, but AB played a great knock. It was a good challenge for us, we created opportunities, but didn’t do enough to seal the win. We came to win, but there were several positives for us.’

